Skip to content

Buffy Fashion Roulette: “Band Candy”

August 12, 2010

Today’s Buffy Fashion Roulette draw is “Band Candy”. This has a lot of fun potential. What I remember most about my original viewing of it is that upon seeing Giles turn all bad and sexy, I felt very insecure in my homosexuality. Let’s investigate this further.

In previous results news, the ever-challenging “Conversations With Dead People” provided some interesting results. You applauded Dawn’s tuxedo shirt and Spike’s regular-people clothes, giving them a tie for second place with 24% of the vote each. But, as she often does in these types of situations, Buffy reigned supreme, netting 30% of all votes cast.

A third of you guys were cruel assholes and voted Jonathan worst dressed for the clothing that he was murdered in. Just for that, I’m punishing you with this “worst dressed” example picture. The knife in his gut is a metaphor for your voting results. The blood spilled will open the gates of Bad Buffy Fashion. Black velvet jackets and fuzzy sweaters will start pouring out of it any minute now. Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

As the episode begins, Buffy and Giles are prepping for her SATs in the cemetery. Buffy is wearing a practical, sporty ensemble. I dig the red hoodie; it’s very autumn-friendly. I also like the braids. Oh yeah, and true story- I totally have those yoga pants.

Giles is particularly uptight-looking here, which I guess is done to counteract the untethered badassness that will soon bewitch the viewing audience. His vest is buttoned all the way up and he’s wearing some weird silk scarf. It looks like the runner of a dining room table.

Buffy stakes a vamp with her #2 pencil, which is still funny to me.

Mr. Trick and Mayor Wilkins are scheming in suits. Mayor Wilkins prefers earth tones- browns, greens, mustards. He sort of dresses like Dwight Schrute. He has to though, because he has to convey this whole “folksy” schtick. Oh my god, I just realized it: Mayor Richard Wilkins was the first coming of Sarah Palin.

Mr. Trick prefers flashier suits. It’s a look that SUITS him. *snicker*

The next morning at Sunnydale High, we open with a rare shot of all of the Scoobies taking a stroll together.

Cordelia looks pretty amazing. She could wear that outfit tomorrow and still look alright. I have no complaints in the Cordelia department. Xander looks totally fine and acceptable. It’s the front row that bothers me.

Willow, of course, is wearing something odd. She is wearing analogous colors, and white tights. It’s not working. The sweater is fuzzy. Her left arm is missing. Et cetera, et cetera. Buffy’s outfit looks alright from the waist up; the skirt, however, is a hideous mess. It’s not too terrible until you realize that there’s visible pink fabric inside of it, presumably to add some sort of an ‘accent’. When will clothing designers realize that nobody looks good in green and pink except for watermelons and elderly beachgoers?

My complaint with Oz is more thematic, rather than “this is a bad look”. Once again, Oz is wearing something that no coolest, hippest guy in school would ever wear. He looks like a stoner. What does his shirt say? “Concerted contractions?” What does that even mean? Is it something that happens when he turns into a werewolf? The shirt on top is even weirder. I get what the costume department tries to accomplish with Oz, but I still maintain that they fail a good 90% of the time.

Hey look, it’s Principal Snyder! This is my first BFR recap with him in it. In retrospect, I feel as though he dresses like a businessman at a Wild West saloon. You know, like the town banker or somebody.

I have found my first fashion repeat, guys! I feel so proud of myself. A couple of months ago I recapped season two’s “Ted”. In that episode, Joyce wore this shirt while retrieving some juice from the fridge and lecturing Buffy.

One year later, she’s wearing the same shirt to retrieve some water from the fridge while lecturing Buffy.

The first time I saw this shirt I described it as “confusing” and “smocklike”, calling it “something… that cults make their newbie members wear.” I’m easing up on it a bit now, because Joyce’s hair and makeup looks a million times better this time around, and because she’s performed the time-honored Buffy tradition of “throwing a sweater over it”. Either way, I think it’s weird that she’s lecturing Buffy from the refrigerator in this shirt on two separate occasions.

Buffy’s off to meet Giles in another sporty ensemble. All black, even. It must be workout time!

And it is. Giles gets hit in the head with a four square ball, which is very comical in a slapstick sort of way.

Buffy peaces out to spend the evening with her mom, except psyche! She’s lying to Joyce AND to Giles, and is off to watch Angel do some creepy Tai Chi. Man, it doesn’t matter how old I get. Every time I see this scene I laugh all the way through it.

Flex.

Extend.

Beckon.

Stretch.

Smolder.

(Anyone care to explain to me why Angel is exercising in suit pants?)

Later, Buffy gets busted by Joyce and Giles for her Tai Chi rendezvous. As you can see here, the band candy is starting to take its magical effect on the old people of Sunnydale. Joyce’s once neatly folded shoulder sweater has drooped to one side (god, those pants are HORRIBLE). Giles is sitting like some a-hole on the subway who takes up half of a row because his testicles need a seat of their own.

Uh oh, it’s ETHAN! I wish he’d switch outfits with that guy. You know, just for fun.

This seating arrangement is really weird. Even with the whole infidelity issue, why wouldn’t Cordelia and Xander sit next to each other? I never got the feeling that Buffy and Cordelia particularly liked each other, even after Cordy and Xander started going out. Anyways, Cordelia’s skirt seems really high-waisted to me. Buffy’s sweater and top are mostly adorable, methinks.

Willow, is that a rust-colored fuzzy sweater I spy on you? Again? I’m sure she’s worn this sweater in a previous recap of mine, but I don’t care to go back and check because actually, she’s probably worn it eight times. Xander’s sweater looks pretty hot. Go Xander!

Beneath the table, Xander and Willow are sneakily indulging in some shenanigans involving matching Adidases. Once Cordelia saw them wearing coordinated skate shoes she should have known that something was amiss! Good thing Xander’s not wearing white tights, though. That would have been a dead giveaway.

Once again, Principal Snyder looks like he’s about to ask the sheriff to catch the scoundrel who robbed his bank.

Buffy shows up at Giles’ to make sure he’s okay, seeing as how he didn’t show up for study hall. Check out that tiny powder blue pleather backpack. Yikes. That’s one of those items that I see at least three of every time I go to Thrift Town.

Those are totally not tobacco cigarettes that Giles and Joyce are smoking. Not at all.

Giles, you can see, has begun his descent into madness by taking off his suit jacket. (Cue Chippendale’s music.) Joyce is wearing a strange snakeskin(?) print dress and drinking Kahlua, a classic choice for underage drinkers everywhere.

A little while later, it’s all over. It’s like Reefer Madness. They’re strung out and listening to Cream. Joyce has unbuttoned her dress and is wearing a ribbed shirt, a miniskirt and thigh high boots beneath it. I’m pretty sure she’s stolen at least two of those clothing items from her daughter. Giles has lost his tie, his suspenders are around his waist, and he has unbuttoned his shirt. Also, he wants to start a band.

Meanwhile at the Bronze, a place that Giles has declared “dead”, Oz, Willow and Buffy are bewildered by the debauchery that is taking place. Oz is wearing a cabana shirt. Once again, I’m not buying it on him.

Here’s a better look at Willow’s skirt from study hall. It’s exactly what we would expect from her.

Ethan and Mr. Trick have met up at the candy factory to discuss business. Ethan’s clothing is typically ill-fitting. Mr. Trick looks pretty swanky. The man knows how to wear a suit. We cannot deny that.

Wow, check out these two. Giles’ accent has changed dramatically, as has his outfit. Also, he’s wearing a bit of eyeliner. Fancy that. Joyce has a fabulous pair of stems (who knew?). Ah, teenage romance. It’s so unchecked, so passionate, so dangerous.

So… shoplift-y.

Giles steals this absolutely hideous pimp coat for Joyce, beats up a cop and bones her on the hood of a police car. (I am incredibly envious of Joyce.) Buffy catches them making out, and she is PISSED. She’s also envious of her mother’s new pilfered cockatoo feather coat, which does not reflect highly on either of them.

Then all of the baddie action starts. Ripper chases Ethan through the candy warehouse, inspiring this scene where real, non-stunt double Giles hops over a conveyer belt like he does it every day. He’s such a juvenile delinquent, and I love him for it.

Buffy wins; the mayor is really angry. His outfit is pretty much the same as it always is.

The Scoobies go back to school, and all of the grownups are mortified at their behavior. Principal Snyder is perhaps the most embarrassed of all. You know, I always found it odd that the show never addressed the fact that Snyder now definitely knew about Buffy’s superhero status. We find out later that he likely knew all along, but the Buffy gang had no knowledge of this at the time. Fashion-wise, Snyder doesn’t look half bad. You know, sometimes it just is what it is.

He demands that the Scoobies clean the “Kiss Rocks” graffiti off of the lockers, a saying that befuddles the youths of 1998. Willow’s outfit is a bit more queer-looking than usual. It’s very softball-coach-as-casual-dance-chaperone. Oz is wearing a ringer tee, which I guess I can buy, but again with the toolish open button-down shirt thrown over it all? Really, show? Xander looks like he auditioned for Jersey Shore but didn’t get the part, and somehow Cordelia’s purse is the same print as her skirt is. Yeah Cordy, I know that trick. It’s called, “your grandma made it.”

Speaking of embarrassed, Giles can barely face Buffy. You know, I do love Buffy’s general uber-blondeness in season 3, but sometimes they go a bit too far with it. The whole comma-looking peroxide-d bits in the front are really unnecessary. I like her sweater, although perhaps she should have considered wearing an undershirt with it. (I can see her unmentionables through it.)

Hey, why is Giles wearing a pinky ring? Is this something that he does often and I just never noticed it before?

Poor Joyce looks like she wants to cry buckets. Embrace the sluttiness, Joyce. It’ll embrace you right back. So will Ripper.

What do you guys think she eventually did with that pimp coat, anyway?

Before we get to voting, an answer to a question that has been posed by a couple of you: I am happy to do interviews; if you want to ask me some questions about myself or my love for all things Buffy for your blog or publication, you can find my email address on my “about me” page. Put “Buffy Fashion Roulette” or something similar in your email title so I don’t accidentally think it’s spam.

Alright! Vote!

44 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2010 2:24 AM

    Love the Sarah Palin comment. These continue to be hilarious.

  2. August 12, 2010 8:37 AM

    “The whole comma-looking peroxide-d bits in the front are really unnecessary.”

    I laughed so hard I think the neighbors heard me.

    Also, I find Xander looks particularly good in this episode! I can’t remember if it’s a third season thing or if it was just this episode.

    Side note: I’ve been following your blog and thoroughly enjoying it! Thanks!

    • msjacks permalink*
      August 12, 2010 4:23 PM

      I also think Xander looked super good in season 3! No wonder all the hotties were after him. To me though, he’s one of those guys whose fashion sort of fades into the background unless it’s really, really glaringly bad or good. I think his shining, awesome Xander-ness is oozing all over the clothes, so it’s hard to pay attention to them. That’s a good thing.

  3. August 12, 2010 8:44 AM

    the tai chi IS too much! he looks so awkward and that matched with the way Buffy is watching him and the accompanying music is hilarious.

    • msjacks permalink*
      August 12, 2010 4:24 PM

      I can’t wait til I eventually recap that episode where Buffy and Angel do Tai Chi TOGETHER!!!

  4. August 12, 2010 9:48 AM

    I’m Team Juvenile Delinquent Giles. But I also like him in tweed. No one can wear a three-piece like Giles (except maybe Spike a la “Tabula Rasa”).

    • msjacks permalink*
      August 12, 2010 4:25 PM

      And Wesley! Don’t forget about him! He’s a great three-piecer.

  5. August 12, 2010 10:48 AM

    I’m not sure if he’s been wearing that pinkie ring since the beginning of the show, but I know he wears it all the way through the end of season 7. I’ve always that it was a little out of character. Although wouldn’t it be cool if it was some sort of watcher thing? When he and Wesley touch rings and say “Watcher Twin powers, activate!” they get super research powers.

    You may have noticed that I love Giles to pieces, but Band Candy Giles is may favorite!!

    • msjacks permalink*
      August 12, 2010 4:26 PM

      Maybe we can start doing Pinky Ring Watch 2010? It’ll be like Where’s Waldo.

      • KevStar permalink
        August 12, 2010 11:36 PM

        I watched “What’s My Line?” from Season 2 tonight—first episode I’ve watched since you’ve started the roulette fun and it totally changed the way I watched. But anyway the pinky ring seemed to appear on Giles midway through Part 1.

  6. Chromde permalink
    August 12, 2010 3:21 PM

    Hilarious fashion recap. The part with Angel’s hilarious Tai Chi killed me. My best guess for the suit pants look is that Angel affords his mansion by working as banker, but it’s far too mundane a job for his creature of the night shtick, so he never told anyone. Really though, how does Angel afford anything? This has always bugged me. Did he bury caches of money throughout the world that he taps into? Or did he carry around sacks of cash while living in the sewers? Has he been using Spike’s tried-and-true method of mugging people in vampface?

    And when you see his mansion/apartment, he has all these antiques and old books and old photographs. I remember this commentary that was like, “oh I like that he’s lived so long he has all this old stuff” but it’s not like his room at the Hyperion in the fifties/his dank sewer was full of statues and books and battle weapons — so he must buy all of it. But how?! How can he afford to buy an office/apartment to work/live in? The mansion was abandoned, I guess, but that doesn’t excuse his other homes. People always complain about the constantly changing financial situation of Angel Investigations, but I think Angel himself is the problem. Damn!

    Okay, rant over. (Sorry about that.) Back to the fashion recap. I voted Buffy for best dressed (I would have voted Cordelia but I really hated the matching skirt/purse). Worst dressed went to Willow. I tell you, if Willow doesn’t end up overall Queen of Bad Buffy Fashion, I am going to be shocked beyond belief.

    And: Mmm, Giles. I want to rewatch this episode just for him.

    • msjacks permalink*
      August 12, 2010 4:29 PM

      You’re so right! I never got so far as to wonder about how he afforded all of those nice things, but I did think it was weird that no one ever noticed how someone was living in an abandoned mansion in Sunnydale. There can’t have been too many of those lying around town, even with all the demon attacks and such.

      Maybe he stole a bunch of stuff? Either that, or he’s a REALLY good antique hunter!

      • August 12, 2010 6:02 PM

        Angel as a banker? Brilliant! I wish I thought of this!! And it would explain a lot. Like why Cordelia ends up working for Angel when he moves to his own show. How much better would it have been if instead of opening up a detective agency that opened an investment firm instead!!

      • msjacks permalink*
        August 12, 2010 6:17 PM

        Angel Investments! It would have been much funnier right after the market crash. Demons coming around, wondering where their money went; Angel visits Bernie Madoff in jail…the possibilities are endless!

  7. mfritter permalink
    August 12, 2010 7:12 PM

    “Concerted contractions” — maybe he’s been reading Marx?

  8. August 12, 2010 9:09 PM

    Man I never learned that smoulder move in MY tai chi class! What a ripoff!

  9. August 13, 2010 12:51 PM

    Msjacks, I love your blog. You never fail to crack me up, even whilst I’m holed up the dungeon I call an office. BtVS is my Holy Grail of TV shows and I had never really noticed the bad fashion—probably because I’ve worn a lot of that stuff , but oy vey, some of it is awful.

    “Band Candy” is one of my favorite episodes, mostly for the Juvenile Delinquent Giles yumminess. I’ve had a crush on that man since he was the cute neighbor in the old Taster’s Choice commericals. I am even willing to forgive him for the pinky ring. Speaking of said pinky ring, I think it’s a Brainy English Guy thing. My ex was an astrophysicist from England and he wore a pinky ring. I know, I know–it was a total deal breaker ( especially since he didn’t look like Giles.)

    • msjacks permalink*
      August 14, 2010 1:04 AM

      Hey, thanks for the nice comment! It’s good to know that Giles isn’t alone in his strange pinky ring-wearing. Maybe creepy pimps and cokeheads don’t wear pinky rings in the UK the way they do in the US? It’s all so disheartening, really. Thanks for commenting; I’m glad that I crack you up in the office! That’s a great compliment to hear.

    • msjacks permalink*
      August 14, 2010 1:04 AM

      Hey, thanks for the nice comment! It’s good to know that Giles isn’t alone in his strange pinky ring-wearing. Maybe creepy pimps and cokeheads don’t wear pinky rings in the UK the way they do in the US? It’s all so disheartening, really. Thanks for commenting; I’m glad that I crack you up in the office! That’s a great compliment to hear.

  10. Rick permalink
    August 13, 2010 9:35 PM

    I think people’s objectivity is being skewed by their love/lust for Giles, but Mr. Trick is clearly the winner here. (I would’ve voted for him the last time he was in the running, but I showed up to the voting too late.) Don’t get me wrong, Giles is one of my favorite characters, but c’mon, Trick looks SO much better, fashion-wise.

    • msjacks permalink*
      August 14, 2010 1:02 AM

      You know, I tend to agree with you. I particularly like Giles in this episode because you see how much he has fashionably evolved over the years, but Mr. Trick is on a whole ‘nother level. He brings a sense of fashion and class to that town that very few citizens had ever encountered before.

      • JHenriquez permalink
        August 18, 2010 7:48 PM

        msjacks, this is one of the funniest blog that I’ve ever read. There were a few moments when I was laughing out loud – so loudly and so often that the person sitting next to me at the airport commented on how what I was reading must be the funniest thing ever. Instead of trying to explain the whole Buffy Fashion Roulette thing, I just settled for a nod and a smile. This blog has made it to my top ten websites that I check daily hoping for a new episode or just content to reread some of the old ones.

        With that said: Mr. Trick was clearly the winner here! That man can wear a suit better than most folk I know. I was tempted to vote for Willow just because I liked the whole feet rubbing thing but I had to be objective.

      • msjacks permalink*
        August 18, 2010 9:41 PM

        Thank you! This is a really sweet comment. I appreciate it a lot. I hope you keep enjoying yourself here!

  11. buffyanne permalink
    August 15, 2010 3:54 PM

    I loved the Snyder as a wild west banker. I’m going to think of that now every time he shows up on screen. Love the blog, keep up the good work!

  12. Smeleanor permalink
    August 16, 2010 6:00 AM

    Just wanted to say, as a British person, what the hell is Giles’ badboy accent about?? He is so not a cockney.

  13. Joey permalink
    August 16, 2010 3:22 PM

    All I’ll say is, sometimes you just can’t understand how much room a pair of testicles need until you got a pair of your own ;)

    Excellent recap as usual!

  14. Chris permalink
    August 17, 2010 6:51 AM

    Joyce was wearing Buffy’s knee high boots – not thigh high. Nonetheless, she keeps them on while having sex with Giles on the hood of the cop car so extra points for that. :)

    • msjacks permalink*
      August 17, 2010 7:06 PM

      True, true. I just like saying “thigh high” cos it sounds nicer, and because I often wear thigh high pantyhose so it gets stuck in my head.

      Indeed, Joyce was truly KNOCKIN’ BOOTS! Tee hee hee.

  15. August 17, 2010 2:55 PM

    i love this blog! and you’ve inspired me to take the plunge and start my own, so i had to give you a shout out on my first (and at this point only) buffy post. more to come, surely to pale in comparison to the bitter buffalo!

    • msjacks permalink*
      August 17, 2010 7:08 PM

      Awesome!! I’m glad you’ve found some writing inspiration here. Is it the blog that’s linked in your permalink on your user ID? I’d love to check it out. XO

      • August 19, 2010 4:49 PM

        yep, it’s the permalink, returntonothingsville.blogspot.com . am i the only person who doesn’t like mr tricks suits?? he looks like a catalog model, and i don’t mean that as a compliment.

  16. captainhammer permalink
    August 19, 2010 12:38 PM

    Was Oz ever supposed to be the “coolest, hippest guy in school”?
    I thought he was supposed to be the smart slacker/laid back musician.
    He is cool, no doubt, but he doesn’t try to be popular or whatever. Which I thought sort of fit his t-shirt surfer vibe of dressing. I’m not really stringing my thoughts together coherently… I should probably grab another cup of coffee.
    I guess I need to rewatch the Oz parts of Buffy again- I can’t remember specifics.
    Adore the Buffy Fashion Roulette.
    Continue being awesome.

  17. ftloosenfanzfree permalink
    August 20, 2010 11:52 AM

    Summers! You drive like a spaaaaazzzzz.

  18. Rebekah permalink
    August 23, 2010 10:56 AM

    Has anyone noticed other adults in the show wearing the exact same ring as Gile’s pinky ring?? I’ve seen Joyce wear it many times, and if I remember correctly, I’ve seen other adults wear it too, possibly even Angel, but I’m not positive.

  19. Sarah permalink
    August 29, 2010 5:25 PM

    I discovered your blog this evening and instead of exploring Venezuela´s political culture as I was supposed to do I chose to read all of your posts about the fashion hell of BtVS. I love every single post!
    When Buffy first aired in Germany I was a bit too young for it thus I started watching it today at the age of 21. Seeing old episodes is a really scary experience because I always wonder how they seriously considered such clothes being portable. Buffy looks most of the time like a first lady and Willow is behind redemption. Ironically Faith wore the same kind of clothes as I did in my wild adolescene a half decade later.
    This time I also voted for Giles because he actually managed to look sexy and a bit dangerous. Only take away the tweed and the guy starts to look gorgeous.
    I really really hope for a fool for love review (or any other ep with a lot of flashback scenes). And I crave your assessment of Dru´s style :-)

  20. Missy permalink
    September 15, 2010 2:31 PM

    Is it odd Giles’ Scarf reminds me of the Pope??
    Here’s hoping Sarah Palin isn’t ascending or indestructable til she’s ascended.
    Perhaps Joyce’ ‘Same Shirt Fridge Lectures’ are a subliminal message of some kind ;)
    I had a that same tiny backpack but it was made of wool or something Lol and kinda hippie-esque.
    Christine Rocks that outfit ,she actually manages to out do buffy in stylish-ness this ep and sadly a great portion of the a 144 eps they churned out……crazy that one tiny outfit made that great an impact on me…….but she looked smokin’ for a woman in here 40’s.
    Oh the good old days when you go out with your boy/girl(or in this case one night stand) and steal ugly stuff you wouldn’t even have liked if him/her stealing it for/with you wasn’t so damn HOT. (channeling some of my own teen memories, which oddly enough played out the same way as that scene)
    It baffles me how many times one of Cordy’s accecories (handbags mostly) are made from the same fabric print as her outfits :s
    “Kiss Rocks…..Who would kiss rocks?!?” Oh Will that statement makes me so sad :(

  21. John Roberts permalink
    October 11, 2010 4:00 PM

    The asshole who needs a seat for his testicles. Now I’m going to think that every single time I see a guy sprawled across a sofa, or the back seat of the bus. Sheer genius.

    Snicker.

  22. John Roberts permalink
    October 11, 2010 4:16 PM

    Giles’s scarf reminds me of the professor’s in Good Will Hunting, the math MIT guy who grovels on the floor picking up the notes that Matt Damon scatters. He wore that same damn scarf the entire film, every single scene he was in. My wife and I figured it must have been an award for some big math prize so he won’t ever take it off.

    Buffy’s pink top in the school scene is fabulous. SMG wears pink very well, which isn’t something that most women over the age of 16 can say.

    Angel is such a poser. Too bad Spike wasn’t in the episode to observe. He would have had a very pointed comment about that display (pun not intended).

  23. Rodney permalink
    October 22, 2010 9:21 AM

    I’m having to go with Joyce’s skirt in this one.Who knew she still had such nice legs at that age! I was shocked when I watched this ep for the first time lol. What always cracked me up most about this ep was how much Spike and Giles were alike (we find out later down the road) just in reverse.Spike/Willam grew up the big nerd responsible young man in tweed who later turned into the leather wearing vamp delinquent.Where Giles went from the young delinquent to the older responsible man wearing tweed lol

Trackbacks

  1. Buffy Conjecture: “Band Candy” | Living on the Hellmouth
  2. Buffy Fashion Roulette: “Faith, Hope & Trick” « The Bitter Buffalo

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

