Skip to content

Buffy Fashion Roulette: “Flooded”

October 17, 2010

Oh, joy! It’s another draw from season 6! More of the characters you love so dearly wallowing in depression and self-destructive behavior! More “the bad guys are our inner demons” metaphors! Whee!

I’ll be the first to admit that season 6 has its moments. “Flooded”, in my opinion, is a brighter one. The script is punchy, and we get a bit of overall plot development. Nonetheless, I have my issues with the episode. But first! Your feelings about “Wrecked” were made abundantly clear in your votes. For the first time in Buffy Fashion Roulette history, I completely disagree with your choice for best dressed. Anya and Buffy made decent showings with 16% and 20% of the vote, respectively. The overwhelming winner, however, was Spike, who drew a relatively surprising 43% of the vote. I mean, I do understand what you guys are trying to communicate to me here. Really, I do. I understand. I empathize.

But might I remind you what we learned from Exhibits A, B and C?

Yeesh. With all that jewelry, one can only hope that Spike is left-handed. (I say that on Buffy’s behalf, of course.)

Worst dressed was a pretty damning display. Tara topped from the bottom once again with 38.5% of the vote, way ahead-behind her closest worst dressed competitors: Amy and her cutout sleeves with 27% of the vote, and Willow at 17%. Tara seems to have lost solely for wearing the same horrible bathrobe sweater that she lost for in “Tabula Rasa”. Funny how these things turn out.

(Gahhh, this picture just KILLS ME! Amber Benson is gorgeous even when she wakes up from passing out on the couch! So why do they have to make her wear a glittery, ill-fitting bathrobe sweater around everywhere?)

Alright folks, onto “Flooded.” Previously on Buffy The Vampire Slayer- or, as I like to acronymize it, POBTVS- a bunch of stuff happened over a couple of seasons. But mostly, people left, died, un-died, or were traumatized by their un-dying. Well then, I suppose the mood is set. Buffy’s in the basement fixing a leaky pipe. She fails. Oh, how she fails….

….leaving the Dawn-haters laughing their asses off. I’m not really a Dawn hater though, so mostly I sit through this scene and wonder if the pipes would really burst like that. I’m not buying it. Even with Buffy’s super strength, all she could do would be to block the pipe. Would this really happen? I mean, come on. During the original airing I sat there yelling at the TV, “Run to your shutoff valve. RUN TO YOUR SHUTOFF VALVE.”

By the time the opening credits are over, Dawn has changed her clothing. Miraculously, her hair looks impeccable. Once again: I’m not buying it.

Buffy is rendered zombie-fied by watching the water go down the drain, which means that they haven’t shut off the water and it’s still flowing into their basement. Whaaa? I’m not buying it!! I’m also not buying the fact that Buffy didn’t get one drop of water on her clothes or in her hair. Nope. Not buying it. She looks nice, though. I like her necklace. And hey, Willow doesn’t look half bad, either.

Check Tara out! She looks downright lovely! It’s a miracle!

Xander is here with the plumber, which makes the fact that they haven’t shut off the water even more preposterous. Wouldn’t the plumber suggest that they stop the incessant flow of water into their basement? Wouldn’t Xander wonder why they hadn’t done that already?

As far as Xander’s outfit goes, there’s not a lot to say about a brown t-shirt. Know what I’m sayin’? It is what it is.

Later Anya brings her fiscal prudence to the table and tries to help them out of their tricky situation. Unfortunately she doesn’t give them many valid options (like seeing if their homeowner’s insurance will cover the repipe; adding the cost of the flood cleanup to the bill; delicately insinuating that Tara and Willow should pay some damn rent around here), suggesting instead that Buffy charge for saving people’s lives, and using “Spider-Man does it” as an explanation. A big argument ensues, and Dawn’s right! Spider-Man, in fact, does NOT charge crime victims for saving their lives. However, Spider-Man does have a job. Superman has a job, too. Batman doesn’t really have much of a job, other than heading up his corporation. But he’s independently wealthy, so he doesn’t have to have one. Don’t worry, all ye Buffyverse faithful! Buffy has a solution. “Easy. we burn the house to the ground and collect the insurance.”

Based on her faraway location in this Disbelieving Group Shot, Anya’s outfit doesn’t look half bad at all. She appears to be riding the delicate line between stylish and business-savvy almost perfectly. But alas! As is so often the case, we soon get a closer look. And unfortunately, Anya is dressed like the entryway to a Renaissance Faire.

Who wears odd triangular flags on their shirts? Who substitutes them for sleeves? Has anyone ever done this? Once again Anya comes within a stone’s throw of looking amazing, but messes it all up with one bizarre aspect of her ensemble.

The Spider-Man Economic Debate gets really heated, culminating with Anya rushing out the door in a tizzy (and giving us one of my favorite “I try to use this in everyday conversation” Buffy lines, ‘Why don’t you ask your good friend Spider-Man?!’). You know, I can’t blame Anya for being upset. She’s trying to find solutions while everyone else is just standing around expecting Buffy to fix it for them. They could sell the house and move into a three-bedroom apartment. Tara and Willow could get jobs. The Scoobies could start selling off their designer wardrobes and start wearing things more than one time ever. They could stop buying more and more new ugly clothes. Technically, Willow could just make money magically appear out of nowhere. But no. Rather than instituting some practical lifestyle changes in their household, Buffy heads on down to the bank to apply for a loan. American readers, take note: this mentality is part of the reason our economy is dangling by a thread right now.

Buffy dresses conservatively for her bank interview. Now, I could sit here and pick this outfit apart for you. I could complain that she’s not wearing pearls, or point out the general shabbiness of her top. I could stick a poll in here asking if you think she has on a suit jacket or a weird blouse. I could make a joke about her shoulder pads. Today though, I’m not going to do any  of that. What happens later in the scene is one of those moments that defines what I do here at Buffy Fashion Roulette. It reminds me why I started this wacky game.

Before the loan officer arrives, Buffy practices her lines. She breaks a bit at the end though, muttering, “Stupid skirt.” Either Buffy has dressed to reflect the insecurity she feels, or the clothing has chipped away at her confidence. (Methinks it’s a little of both.) This is not the typical “Buffy in the graveyard confidently sassing vampires while rocking a leather jacket” scenario. Indeed, this is the loan officer’s territory. He’s quick to point out the obvious to Buffy. “You have no income, no job.” And y’know, he’s right. Spiderman may not charge to save people, but he has a job. Superman has a job. Batman has a job (as well as some class privilege, but still! a job). However, that said, she’s certainly no slacker.

The opportunity to prove herself lands on the table in front of Buffy. Literally.

Suddenly their worlds have flipped. The loan officer’s safe space has been upended, but Buffy’s right back where she belongs.

Hey, check this guy out! The short-sleeved leather jacket is sort of weird, and everything is a bit ill-fitting, but all in all he doesn’t look half bad.

He should break into Shaquille O’Neal’s house and steal all of his clothes. That way, they would fit a little better.

Anyways, Buffy’s all like, fight fight fight! So she goes up to the demon and tries to kick him in the head. But alas! Her skirt is too tight. ‘Stupid skirt.’

The demon tosses her across the loan officer’s desk. Then: a pivotal moment of fashion truth!

Buffy borrows the loan officer’s letter opener, cuts a waist-high slit up the side of her skirt and kicks the demon’s ass.

She’s foiled by a foreshadow-y gun toting security officer though, and the demon slips away. Nevertheless, Buffy returns to the loan officer’s desk to demand her loan.

No dice.

Buffy heads to the Magic Box to work out in a sensible a-shirt and yoga pants combo. Willow tries to solve Buffy’s problems by riling her up. Ah, these kids. Always focusing on everyone else’s problems first.

The gang convenes around the lit-from-within Magic Box table (seriously, that table is so weird; who wants to read at a lit-up table?), and learns that the demon they’re fighting is called an M’Fashnik. They also learn why he’s wearing clothes: to hide his enormous penis. Well, then. Much more pivotal in this scene: the return of Rupert Giles, in his trusty suede heavy jacket.

Meanwhile, M’Fashnik is incredibly angry at the Trio for summoning him. They are dressed like, well, nerds. They are literally surrounded with piles of pilfered money, but haven’t made the decision to upgrade their wardrobes yet.

It is interesting to me that Jonathan steps up to confront the M’Fashnik first. This would have never happened later in the season.

The Scoobies are turning in for the night. Buffy is making a bed on the couch for Giles. He gets to sleep on girly butterfly sheets. Fun. She has changed into a slightly-odd-by-today’s-standards outfit. The colors don’t quite match, and that seriously draped neckline looks almost comical in 2010. (True story: I had a couple of those shirts. Ouch.)

Later, Willow’s in the kitchen eating cookies and Giles is getting some water. Willow is totally giddy about having brought Buffy back from the dead. She’s so clueless! Seeing her threaten Giles is still a little bit scary. She and Warren are a lot alike in some ways. It makes sense that they both went off the rails at the same time. Anyways, here’s a rare shot of Giles in a t-shirt.

Buffy heads outside to get some air, or maybe because she psychically feels Spike’s presence nearby. Since Spike’s a classy guy and all, he tosses a lit cigarette butt onto her wooden porch. Buffy’s square-toe camel boots are antiquated-looking. They are almost the exact same color as her pants. It’s a strange look. The strangeness is compounded by the fact that she changed into this after exercising until late in the night. Why would someone wear this to put sheets on the couch? Why didn’t she just change into a t-shirt and jeans? (Does Buffy even own any t-shirts?)

Spike is wearing, as commenter Tat accurately describes it, “wardrobe (a)” (guess what wardrobe (b) is).

Dawn can’t sleep. Her pajamas are pretty adorable. There’s nothing like a pair of pajama pants with random shit printed on it to really punch up a scene.

M’Fashnik shows up and as a result, there’s the requisite Buffy fight scene. For once, Buffy is super cautious about not breaking everything in the house. (She fails, but she’s cautious.) M’Fashnik breaks a lamp, which sends Buffy into an apoplectic fit. ‘That’s a designer lamp, ya mook!’ You know, when I’m so broke that I can’t pay my bills and am about to rack up many thousands of dollars of debt for a critical home repair on top of it all, one of my first orders of business tends to be to sell my designer friggin’ lamps. But, y’know. No judgment.

Buffy drags him into the basement, where the flooding is now knee-deep. No one has taken the not-yet-ruined cardboard boxes upstairs in an attempt to salvage their contents. No one has tossed a Shop Vac downstairs to suck up the water.

For that matter, no one has even turned off the water.

In contrast, the geeks are rolling in dough. by the next morning they’ve purchased all sorts of pointless fancy equipment and electronics. If this scene exists to prove a point about the severity of economic disparity, the writers have clearly succeeded. As far as costuming goes, that department has also succeeded, and wildly. The nerds look like nerds. Although you can’t see it so well in this picture, Andrew is still wearing the same t-shirt he was wearing the day before.

Jonathan is wearing the cutest widdle shiwt I ever did see. It’s so cute that the koala bear on it is smiling. Awwww.

Back at Camp Summers, we are expected to sympathize with the Scoobies’ plight. In some regards I do feel bad for these kids. But then I see Dawn and Willow pointlessly trying to glue their stupid designer lamp back together instead of tossing a Shop Vac into the basement and heading down there with a mop and I think, what the hell?

Clothing-wise, Dawn’s a mess. What’s up with that incredibly pointy collar? Willow, on the contrary, is looking downright snazzy. Really, it’s been a banner episode for everyone’s favorite Wiccan lesbian couple. I am shocked. A solitary tear is forming in my eye and is about to trickle down my cheek. As soon as it falls I’ll wipe it away before anyone sees. These two witches, man. They can really pull it together when it all comes down to it, and I-

Pink camouflage. Fuck it. Never mind.

Hey, but Giles! He looks just fine. We can also find solace in the fact that Xander has taken on a marginally more useful task than the one that Willow and Dawn have. He’s trying to repair the coffee table. He’s using an actual tool. To top it all off, he doesn’t look half bad doing it.

Anya and Buffy are crunching some numbers, and Buffy’s chair is literally held together with duct tape. Really, Buffy? You can’t throw the damn thing out with the shattered designer lamp and hit up Thrift Town for some replacements?  Buffy’s top is kinda cute. I had one of those, too. Man, I was a regular Buffy copycat. As far as Buffy’s hair goes, I like that she has stuck a pen in her hair to show that she’s really working on her budget.

Anya’s outfit is a bit confusing. As you can see from the photo two up, she’s got on some interesting slingbacks. I like ‘em, anyway. She’s also wearing an enormous belt and rust-colored capri pants or a skirt; I can’t tell which. Now that I think about it, there sure are a lot of orange and rust-colored ensemble pieces on this show (why?). I do like Anya’s shirt, but with reservations. At first glance I thought the picture was of some sweet metal princess riding a pegasus. Upon further inspection I learn that it’s one of those pin-up girl reproductions that were so popular at the beginning of the 2000′s. That’s a little less awesome.

Her hair is messy, but she gets a pass here. As far as I’m concerned, they should all be wearing Hazmat suits and face masks.

Vote below!

29 Comments leave one →
  1. Olivia permalink
    October 17, 2010 7:43 PM

    I have to say, I really want Willow to win for once, given the doozies that the costume department threw at her. (I think Tara’s a lost cause, though.)

  2. October 17, 2010 7:53 PM

    Might I be the first to point out that Spike is, indeed, left-handed.

    What a terrible episode this was – not even Tara wearing something nice could save it.

    • msjacks permalink*
      October 17, 2010 11:35 PM

      Spike’s left-handed? Poor, poor Buffy. My goodness gracious.

  3. Chromde permalink
    October 17, 2010 11:09 PM

    Two things popped into my head when I saw “Flooded”:

    1) Everyone is ridiculously stupid in this episode.
    2) Buffy gets a bootycall from Angel in this episode.

    I remembered nothing of the fashion. Except for Buffy’s necklace, I remember trying to puzzle out the shape. So I’m surprised to realize how nice Willow manages to look in this episode! However, dark thoughts follow this realization. Maybe the real reason Joyce’s life insurance zapped so fast is because Willow went out and actually bought some nice clothes for once.

    I voted Willow for best dressed because it’s so rare for her, even though I suspect she’s a thief.

    I voted Buffy for worst dressed because I honestly do not understand her sense of fashion. The drape shirt? The boots? Ugh. My next choice was Anya, because those sleeves (the moment I saw the screencap, I was thrown back to the first time I saw this episode and I snorted “nice triangles!”) but since Xander’s a dick to her here, I was a little softer in my judgement. He does that thing I hate where he doesn’t take her side and acts like he’s horribly embarassed to be connected with her. Blargh.

    Tara looks so lovely in her first outfit! Too bad about that damn pink camoflauge with that long necklace thing. I am totally with you; did the fashion fascist/wardrobe person (still Cynthia at this point, I think) hate how pretty Amber Benson was so they dressed her like that all the time?

    Damn the Scoobies. I remember, this entire episode, I was just so frustrated. I kept snapping at them, “GET JOBS! PAY RENT! SELL ALL THE LEATHER YOU OWN!” I hate watching them bitch about money troubles when Buffy’s in her 100th new leather jacket or Willow and Tara are crashing without getting off their lazy asses to get a job. Poor Buffy didn’t deserve to get thrown into the middle of that mess. And man, they all pick on Anya, but at least Anya (and Xander, to be fair) had a job. Also, Dawn, do some chores around the house, babysit, do something instead of whine.

    You know, I suppose the writers aren’t completely stupid, and they’d be able to think of these things too, so I suppose they’re just trying to show how these spoiled young adults have no idea how to live in the real world (life being the enemy of season six) but what does Giles the responsible adult do when he comes back? He just gives money to Buffy like, “Happy Second Return to Life, Buffy.” No advice or anything on a long-term way to handle her finances. Wouldn’t a man as smart as Giles know the saying, “give a man a fish and you feed him for a day, teach a man to fish and you feed him for a lifetime?”

    Man, it just bothers me. Also, their money problems are definitely a lot less noticeable after this money from Giles, which I can’t believe because the Scoobies (Buffy in particular) do not seem to understand how to spend thriftily. Maybe Angel and Buffy’s Mid-Way Bootycall took place under an overpass, with Buffy holding a shiv to Angel’s neck and threatening to saw his head off unless he supplied her with some cash.

    Great fashion recap! Also, I didn’t think much of the water after the opening, but you’re so right about how bizarre it is that they never turned it off. What the hell!

    • msjacks permalink*
      October 17, 2010 11:32 PM

      You made me think of something: while Buffy was dead, were Willow and Tara living off of Joyce’s life insurance payout? If so, YIKES. I know maintaining the home and the Buffybot was probably a lot of work and consumed much of their time, but that’s fraud. Dawn could have sued their asses and won once she turned 18. I guess it’s possible that Willow still gets money from her parents, but it’s pretty doubtful that Tara does.

      I also think it’s weird that the Watchers’ Council didn’t step in to help out. I know they and Buffy washed their hands of each other awhile back, but do they really want another rogue slayer situation a la Faith? At this point, Buffy’s the only thing keeping their lazy asses in business.

      Maybe all of the writers were spoiled young adults and literally had no clue how this stuff works/feels? I don’t know. It’s either that or seriously lazy writing.

      • Chromde permalink
        October 18, 2010 12:14 AM

        Now there’d be a plotline for season six! Dawn sues Willow and Tara and wins the case, taking them for all they’re worth. A bitter Willow and Tara drop out of school and start forgetting their financial woes and inabilty to buy more fuzzy/bathrobe sweaters with Rack’s magic touch. One day, they chance upon Buffy boning Spike, and get the cold wake up call that their friends still need them. They start trying to help from the shadows, but still can’t quite kick the habit. They decide to do something about the Trio, but they’re blissed out use of magic screws up their carefully laid traps, and doesn’t trap them and instead leads Warren to becoming so enraged he kills Tara. Willow goes evil, and the first thing she does is flay Dawn alive. Xander saves the day by reimbursing Willow with money he and Anya siphoned from the Magic Box and his construction company.

        Also, you reminded me of something that bugged me about Tara. How was she paying for university? Her family hated her/wouldn’t let her out of their sight. Is she really super smart and got every scholarship/bursary ever? Or did her mother set aside a fund or something? Inquiring minds wish to know.

        That’s something that bugs me about Checkpoint. Buffy manages to get Giles on the payroll again, and retroactively paid, but doesn’t ask for any payment herself?

        I’m tempted to say lazy writing, because alas this is the season of crackwhore!Willow and Satanic temples overseeing Sunnydale. (Oh season six, I like you, I do …)

  4. October 18, 2010 12:30 PM

    Wow, I’ve always hated the lack of common sense surrounding the money situation as a whole. It’s not like the show ever had good explanations as to how Joyce, running a gallery, or Giles, unemployed season 4, could sustain their lifestyles, but at least the writers never called attention to it. This episode just puts a big, ugly spotlight on all of the disbelief I knowingly and willingly suspended week after week in order to enjoy the show. It’s disappointing and sad and upset’s me that Sunnydale high failed to teach any courses on economics.

    And as for handling Buffy’s money while she’s dead, couldn’t Willow just have installed QuickBooks on the Buffybot and let her take care of the finances as well as the slaying and parent teacher conferences? I’m sure she could rock some stock trading software as well and, like magic, we have income!

  5. Missy permalink
    October 19, 2010 2:44 AM

    For the Horrid Bank Loan Outfit & The Beige Attack Outfit…..Buffy Got my Worst Dressed Vote.
    I’m sorry but I think Anya Dresses Pretty Damn Good in this season…….I will agree that it can be at times Unsual but thats Anya…..and thats why I Love her……She wears what she wants to wear…..instead of tryin’ to be fashionable like the rest of the gang and failing miserably…..So I voted her best dressed.
    I’m with you on the WTF don’t they sell some stuff……….I’ve been in dire situations and I’ve let some great possesions go because I knew it was the right thing to do……but apparently they can’t part with half of the Hideous trinkets the have just lying around.
    And the Pipes…….why not put a Sign up out front saying ‘Summer’s Day Spa’….because if your not gonna turn the damn valve off……you may aswell make money from the Swimming pool thing you got going on.

  6. Brigdh permalink
    October 19, 2010 7:34 AM

    God, pink camouflage. I remember the pink camouflage. (And I think it’s coming back in? Shudder.) I love Tara dearly, but anyone who wears pink camouflage is automatically worst dressed.

    I ended up voting for Buffy for best-dressed, but no one was particularly stylish this episode.

  7. Irene permalink
    October 29, 2010 1:32 PM

    Oh! Too bad that voting for Wrecked is closed. I so want to vote for Naked Spike!
    As for Flooded, it really does have some weird stupidity regarding how the characters approach real life’s problems. Although I kind of understand where the writers are coming from. Exibit A: flowing water in the basement. It just looks so much more dramatic. It keep reminding us how hard it is in the real world. And wet. Would the show have so much drama if everyone would be perfect and gainfully employed? No. Besides, the writers did plan for the whole episode on how hard to earn a minimum wage – Doublemeat Palace. So I get it, the writers probably did not take viewers for fools, they just dramatized a bit more than it was sensible.

  8. Minnie permalink
    November 10, 2010 8:21 PM

    Will there be a new Buffy Fashion Roulette soon? I love your witty take on the fashion of my all time favorite show.

    • msjacks permalink*
      November 10, 2010 8:27 PM

      long answer: I have been really overwhelmed with schoolwork, transfer applications, my personal life, and work, so BFR got put on the backburner for a minute there.
      short answer: yes, there will be a new one soon.

      • Seán permalink
        December 20, 2010 4:27 PM

        Hate to annoyingly hassle you and all but do you have any idea when the next Buffy snark post is? I’ve been visiting this site everyday and no new posts! :( I NEED YOUR BRAND OF HUMOUR MIXED WITH BUFFY THE VAMPIRE SLAYER!!!

  9. Youfightwelllittleman permalink
    December 2, 2010 10:11 AM

    Please write a new one when you can – your fans miss you!

  10. JHenriquez permalink
    December 23, 2010 6:30 PM

    Loved the commentary from this episode! I’ve really been missing your brand of snarkiness :) Hope things work out with life stuff. I can’t wait to read the next one. Still checking back at least once a week.

  11. KIM permalink
    January 12, 2011 10:30 PM

    Yes, I have been checking every day! Please a new one soon!

  12. January 13, 2011 4:09 PM

    Good day, I believe an individual, in the event you go to Romania you’ve got a draught beer by myself: ) Many thanks!

  13. daughterneptune permalink
    January 27, 2011 6:00 PM

    The drapey neckline is called a cowl neck, and it was actually pretty fashionable in 2009/2010.

  14. Nicki permalink
    January 28, 2011 6:03 AM

    Are you ever coming back? I really enjoyed your roulettes. They were the highlight of my week/fortnight. :D

  15. Missy permalink
    January 28, 2011 10:22 AM

    Like Everyone Else
    I’ve Been Checking Back Weekly
    Starting To Get Worried Though….Hopefully Your Okay.

  16. msjacks permalink*
    January 28, 2011 5:05 PM

    Hey guys: I am still alive. I’m buried under a mountain of things but I have a BFR on tap and will hopefully get it done by the weekend. I’m sorry- this has been a crazy past few months. But I MISS doing this so much, and I miss your amazing, hilarious and insightful comments, and I have not forgotten my mostest favoritest blog readers. I promise!!

    A hint about what’s to come (soon!!): Timmy’s down the bloody well. Dammit, Timmy!

    • Missy permalink
      January 29, 2011 10:06 AM

      Thats going to be a interesting fashion ep ;)

    • Seán permalink
      February 26, 2011 10:01 PM

      Something Blue! Woo-hoo! (I rhyme, sort of!)

  17. Vicky permalink
    February 3, 2011 3:01 PM

    As far as the jewelery thing goes, it’s not just Spike! The costume department seemed to have a thing with rings. In Anne, Joyce is wearing 3 or 4 different rings. I’ve seen Buffy and Angel wearing a lot of rings too, but I can’t remember specific episodes.

    Speaking of season 3, I just re-watched Dead Man’s Party, and I’d love to hear your analysis of that episode. What was Buffy thinking?

  18. KIM permalink
    February 22, 2011 3:14 PM

    I’m so glad you’ll be back! Looking Forward to it!

  19. Seán permalink
    March 19, 2011 3:09 PM

    No sign of a post yet…hope you’re still alive! And I hope I’m not pressuring you! Even though I know I kind of am…

  20. Missy permalink
    March 20, 2011 9:22 AM

    Still Here
    Still Waiting
    Hope Your Okay

  21. Katrina permalink
    March 21, 2011 11:28 PM

    Just to add to those waiting. Hope your still alive.

Trackbacks

  1. Buffy Conjecture: “Flooded” | Living on the Hellmouth

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

